

OFFICERS

DAVID A. FARCY, MD FCCM President Miami Beach, FL

LISA MORENO-WALTON, MD MS MSCR President-Elect New Orleans, LA

JONATHAN S. JONES, MD Secretary-Treasurer Jackson, MS

MARK REITER, MD MBA Immediate Past President Brentwood, TN

HOWARD BLUMSTEIN, MD Past Presidents Council Representative Winston-Salem, MC

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

KEVIN BEIER, MD Brentwood, TN

ROBERT FROLICHSTEIN, MD San Antonio, TX

MEGAN HEALY, MD Philadelphia, PA

BOBBY KAPUR, MD MPH Miami, FL

EVIE MARCOLINI, MD FCCM Branford, CT

TERRENCE MULLIGAN, DO MPH Baltimore, MD

BRIAN POTTS, MD MBA Oakland, CA

THOMAS TOBIN, MD MBA Spokane, WA

YPS DIRECTOR JENNIFER KANAPICKI COMER, MD Emerald Hills, CA

AAEM/RSA PRESIDENT ASHELY ALKER, MD San Diego, CA

EDITOR, JEM EX-OFFICIO BOARD MEMBER STEPHEN R. HAYDEN, MD San Diego, CA

EDITOR, COMMON SENSE EX-OFFICIO BOARD MEMBER ANDY MAYER, MD New Orleans, LA

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR KAY WHALEN, MBA CAE

ASSOCIATE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR JANET WILSON, CAE April 19, 2018

Dr. Terry Kowalenko ABEM 3000 Coolidge Road East Lansing, MI 48823

RE: Application for Subspecialty Certification in Neurocritical Care Medicine (NCCM)

Dear Dr Kowalenko,

Thank you for including the American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) in the discussion regarding the applications for subspecialty certification in Neurocritical Care Medicine (NCCM) and designation of Focused Practice (DFP) in Neurological Critical Care being submitted on behalf of the ABMS Boards in Emergency Medicine, Psychiatry and Neurology, Anesthesiology, and Neurological Surgery.

As noted, this is indeed a complex issue and was discussed at length with AAEM leadership and at our recent Critical Care Section meeting at the AAEM Scientific Assembly.

As an AAEM section, it is important for us to remain consistent with the mission and vision statements of AAEM. AAEM stands for board certification by ABEM. After thoughtful discussion, we would suggest that if fellowship blocks are not in continuous months during one elective year, then meaningful critical care rotations be fulfilled within the last 2 years of training, to be consistent with other advanced critical care specialization. Overall, we support the subspecialty application and confirm our commitment to ABEM/ABMS pathways for subspecialty certification in NCCM.

Our discussion did lead to some concern about the DFP for Neurological Critical Care. We also would suggest that the eligibility period for the Designation of Focused Practice be time-limited.

We recognize the need to establish a formal ABMS pathway for subspecialty certification in NCCM and appreciate your efforts in holding to high standards and support this application.

With respect,

1

Ashika Jain, MD Chairperson AAEM-Critical Care Section

Joseph Shiber, MD Past Chair AAEM Critical Care Section

Cc: Drs. Earl Reisdorff and Melissa Barton

David A Farcy, MD President AAEM

Evadne Marcolini, MD Member at Large/Section Liason AAEM Board of Directors

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF EMERGENCY MEDICINE 555 East Wells Street, Suite 1100, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3823 (800) 884-2236 • info@aaem.org • www.aaem.org